News

Hardpoint Motorsports at Laguna Seca for Porsche GT3 Cup

  • News
  • September 19, 2019

Monterey, California – September 19, 2019 – Hardpoint Motorsports’ Rob Ferriol has returned to WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca with team Moorespeed for the IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama event.

Ferriol comes into the weekend fresh from competing at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca last weekend in the IMSA Michelin Pilot Challenge where he finished 4th in No. 18 Moorespeed/GridRival Audi R8 LMS GT4. The American now shifts gears and returns to his full-season commitment to the IMSA Porsche GT3 Cup Challenge USA by Yokohama in the No. 5 Moorespeed/GridRival Porsche GT3. Ferriol sits in second of the championship’s points standings and is looking to keep his winning streak alive by make his third straight podium appearance of the season.

The weekend begins with today’s promoter test day and the first official practice on Friday at 8:00 a.m. PDT. A final session will follow at 1:10 p.m. PDT on Friday before Saturday mornings qualifying session running at 8:10 a.m.

The doubleheader weekend features a pair of 45-minute races. Saturday’s 12:30 p.m. PDT (3:30 p.m. EDT) race and Sunday’s 4:20 p.m. PDT (7:20 p.m. EDT) race will be streamed live on IMSA.tv.

Rob Ferriol – Driver of the No. 5 Moorespeed/GridRival Porsche GT3
“Last weekend was great for the team and me in the Moorespeed GS car. I got to know the track, and that was the goal coming into the weekend. The finish was just a bonus! The name of the game for me this week is to take what I learned, make the adjustments to the Porsche GT3 Cup car including the speed and the brakes, and get after it.”